At All Times-Psalm 34:1

December 4, 2009

Looking upward over spilled milk

Filed under: Personal Reflections — by Whitney Standlea @ 8:50 pm
Tags: , , , ,

If regular chores weren’t enough, we’ve gone through another round of home improving: seal the windows for winter, clean out messy drawers and closets, rearrange furniture to be more functional for our growing family, and so on. Sometimes it feels like we are constantly trying to keep up with keeping our home de-cluttered and organized.  And then there are those wonderful “extras.” How about the glass of soy milk I knocked over in the fridge. After all, I knew when I placed my sons half empty (or full?) glass of milk in the fridge, that something would happen if I didn’t take a few extra moments to pour it in his usual sippy cup. And then there was the three-foot fluorescent light that the maintenance man shattered over my entire kitchen. Too bad some of it landed in my pumpkin pie.

During this seasonal round of cleaning I started to become discouraged with the amount of time my husband and I spend just trying to keep things simple. Why does this ongoing work come our way? Why can’t we just simplify once and be done? If we were doing this right, wouldn’t we have additional time for the more important things? While reflecting on this, I was reminded of that awful event in Genesis 3: The Fall. Doesn’t God say in verse 17 & 19 (ESV):

“…Cursed is the ground because of you;
through painful toil you will eat of it
all the days of your life….

By the sweat of your face
you shall eat bread,
till you return to the ground,
for out of it you were taken;
for you are dust,
and to dust you shall return.”

I think toil is a good word. I feel like I twittle and toil all day long. If I were living rightly and wisely before God, wouldn’t it be different? I recently read this quote from Dietrich Bonhoeffer that offered much in this regard:

“Over the destiny of woman and of man lies the dark shadow of a word of God’s wrath, a burden from God, which they must carry. The woman must bear her children in pain, and in providing for his family the man must reap many thorns and thistles, and labor in the sweat of his brow. This burden should cause both man and wife to call on God, and should remind them of their eternal
destiny in his kingdom…” (Qtd in This Momentary Marriage, by John Piper, p 28)

I was reminded as I pondered these things that one day we will enter the Lord’s rest. For those who rest in Christ now we may have forgiveness of sins but the effects of it still saturate our every day living. BUT we will have an eternal rest with Him. I think it is safe to say that that rest will be absent from all the extra “cleaning up” we have now. So may our spilled soy milk somehow turn us heavenward and remind us that sin will one day lose its reign that permeates our lives.

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks Whitney, a needed reminder, sometimes I think if I could just get it ALL done once then things would be better. You know the meal planning, devotions, exercise, organization, etc…. But we truly are reaping the consequences of The Fall on a daily basis. Keeping my focus on Christ (looking Heavenward) has got to be my goal or I can have no victory whatsoever.
    Keep the posts coming!

    Comment by Shelly Campbell — December 5, 2009 @ 1:20 pm |Reply

  2. […] in peace. As I cleaned the whole refrigerator over again, I began thinking of my first blog post (Looking Upward over Spilled Milk), the sermon, Christ’s coming, and my present moment. Can I find Christ here? Can I find Him in […]

    Pingback by Peace in the Fridge? (Looking Upward Over Spilled Milk Part II) « At All Times-Psalm 34:1 — June 7, 2010 @ 12:29 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

