At All Times-Psalm 34:1

December 30, 2009

Review & Reflections: Treasuring God in our Traditions by Noel Piper (PART I)

I recently finished reading Treasuring God in our Traditions by Noel Piper. I would like to take the time to do a brief overview of the book and then follow it up with some reflections and discussion. This will probably be broken into four or five different posts.  To download the book for free (or order it), click here.

The Piper family has been very influential in my life and countless others. This book was most delightful to me because it provided a very intimate glimpse into the daily life of the Piper family over the years. It was enjoyable, helpful, and encouraging to see what traditions and practices they built their family on.

The first section of the book Noel begins by setting up for us what traditions are, what makes them important, and how they work. From some passages in Deuteronomy she defines tradition, in essence, as a “planned habit with significance” that hands down information, beliefs, and worldview. More importantly, tradition for the Christian family involves “laying up God’s words in our own hearts and passing his words to the next generation.”

My desire as a parent has been to establish traditions for my family that will give my children a passion for God and a deep knowledge of Him. I’ll admit I’ve been overwhelmed in trying to think through all of this. However, reading Noel’s book has been immensely helpful in focusing my thoughts. Her underlying philosophy and her practical overflow, made me feel so equipped to supply meaningful traditions to my family. In fact, I found it encouraging to see that some of the “little” things we’ve been doing as a family are valuable and meaningful as well. Here are three key questions she asks that are the overflow of her book:

  • What is my greatest treasure? What is most precious to me?
  • How do I reflect and express that treasure in my life?
  • How can I pass that treasure on to my children and others within my circle?

The first set of questions has to do with our heart. Do we love and treasure Christ the most? Is He are supreme treasure and joy? If so, then we have something of infinite value to pass on to others. If not, our traditions will reflect whatever it is our hearts cling to.

It is the final question that I would like to explore through the remaining posts.  Noel divides the passing on of tradition into the “everyday” and the “especially.” I hope to share with you my own reflections and practices on these areas in the remaining posts. Please stay tuned!

1 Comment »

  1. […] family prayer time, family worship, spiritual disciplines, traditions, Treasuring God First, see Part I of this […]

    Pingback by “Family Worship”: Treasuring God in Our Traditions Part II « At All Times-Psalm 34:1 — January 9, 2010 @ 10:16 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

