At All Times-Psalm 34:1

March 14, 2010

Introduction & Thought 1: Looking heavenward

My pastor recently started a sermon series through Revelation. During one of his first sermons he talked about the imminence of the Day of the Lord. As we’ve been going through Revelation, I’ve been thinking more of this and the many Scriptures that speak about hoping in the Lord’s coming. We are told to eagerly wait for it (1 Cor. 1:7 and Phil 3:20-21).  Do I often think about the Lord’s coming and the hope I have? Do I eagerly watch for it? Do I even watch for it at all.

I will be posting several short thoughts on this over the next week or so.

THOUGHT 1: E-MAIL

I confess! I have an addiction to Gmail. I keep it open all day and am constantly (every minute or so) glancing at it to see if I have received a new message. I’ve recently taken measure to reduce this but its been challenging. Its always something: a reply back from a friend, a confirmation my order has shipped, an update from the church, a new home posted that meets our search criteria (we’ve been home hunting). All day, in every free moment I am running past the computer to see if something new has come in.

I think there are others with similar “checking” issues. It can be with phones, Facebook, Twitter or even the mail box. I know I have a hard time waiting for the mail man to get here each day.

How would things be different if we were constantly glancing at the sky with our eyes or constantly turning our hearts to God in prayer in hope that He is coming?

Let my eyes glance upward.
Draw my heart to Heaven.
Help me see past all that vies for my attention here.

Turn my thoughts to Jesus.
Send my mind to prayers.
Make me ever watchful, until He should appear.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

