At All Times-Psalm 34:1

March 15, 2010

Thought 2: Honey, I’m Home

It seems that marriage is always full of such wonderful examples and metaphors for us…

My husband’s job varies each day. Sometimes he returns home at 1:00. Other days its 6:00. I never know what it will be each day. He usually calls to inform me when he is on his way home, but not always. It seems that whether he tells me or not, my eyes are always glancing out that sliding glass door for his work truck. Its funny that that big old work truck with “Four Paws Fence” on the side is so special to me. If I hear a car driving up, I do a double take with the hope that its him.

Sometimes when I’m doing this I remember back to the days we were dating. I was always glancing outside for that silver Ford Taurus. Always hoping he would surprise me, even if I knew he wasn’t coming.

Would that my desire for the presence of Christ be far-surpassing to my desire for my husband’s presence.

Jesus, your precious presence
near to me each day.
Let is be a foretaste of
The joy that’s on the way.

From this earthly separation
my heart should turn to You.
Till fullness of your presence
when all things are made new.

1 Comment »

  1. Great post – an awesome reminder! I do the same things too with my husband’s police car…always looking for it even when I’m not expecting him home (and even when I am). May I too, wait as anxiously for the Lord’s return!!!

    Comment by allison dull — March 16, 2010 @ 12:38 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

