At All Times-Psalm 34:1

April 5, 2010

Sabbath Day Rest: What Happened

Filed under: Sabbath Day Series — by Whitney Standlea @ 3:01 pm

So what happened on my Good Friday Sabbath? [Please read the first post of this series here.]

I started by sleeping in, waking up, and showering. I skipped working out. (Note: Sleeping in is a real joy in our home. With a 6 month old and a 2-year-old, sleeping in means getting a whole 8 and a half hours of uninterrupted sleep.)

For the morning it was a lot easier to play with my boys and enjoy them. There was nothing else competing for my intention. We spent a lot of time through out the day reading small portions of the crucifixion account from Mark. We also sang hymns together frequently.

I tried to keep the computer off most of the day. While I checked e-mails I didn’t take the time to follow-up on them as normal.

My son and I watched the first spring storm blow in together.

During afternoon nap (the nap when both kids are asleep) I spent some time in the Word and in prayer. And then I took a nap.  I’ll talk more about that next post.

In the evening we had an easy dinner as a family and then headed off to our church’s Good Friday service. After the service we went out with some friends.

No cooking, no traveling, no cleaning, no laundry, no projects, no writing.

Next post I’ll talk about the spiritual implications/applications from what happened during the day and what I learned.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

