At All Times-Psalm 34:1

January 17, 2011

Preparing for Christmas (Already)

Here is the post with the patterns for my family’s Advent Calendar. I spent so much time trying to find something similar to this to purchase, and finally had to make my own because nothing was available. I’m hoping this will help some of you out who are in a similar position. Below are a few points about the calendar you may want to read before going to the actual post with instructions:

1. The Advent Calendar is based on Noel Piper’s Noel Calendar.

Desiring God sold these calendars several years ago. They are mentioned in her book Treasuring God in our Traditions. They no longer sell them. The original calendar is a simple burlap wall hanging with figurines that velcro to the display. Felt was an easier material for me to locate, so my calendar is made of felt. I also heavily draw on Piper’s text for my calendar, but it is altered a bit to better suit the desires I had for my family. I credit her for the idea, and have confirmed permission with Desiring God to post my altered version.

2. The Advent Calendar is geared toward younger children.

This calendar is an excellent teaching tool for children ages birth through ?six? years of age. My children were 15 months and almost three as we went through the calendar this past December. Both were eager and fascinated each day for Daddy to arrive home so we could “do calendar” together. My almost-three-year-old was easily able to memorize large portions of the text. We would read a few words and then he would complete the sentences as we went along. My husband and I were both amazed at his capacity for memorizing so much in such a short period of time.

3. The goals of this calendar were to: Teach my children the story of Christ’s birth, and Help them to be excited about the true meaning of Christmas.

These goals were certainly accomplished in our home. The amount of conversations that were generated about the Christmas story were many and often. It is a tool that I would highly recommend to parents of younger children.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Here is our family’s advent calendar, derived largely from Noel Piper’s calendar that is no longer available. For more information on this calendar and how we used it on our home, please see my previous post. […]

    Pingback by Felt Nativity Calendar Photos, Patterns, Instructions « At All Times-Psalm 34:1 — August 28, 2011 @ 12:13 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

